Celtic League Rugby Union

The Celtic League is the rugby union competition played between three Scottish, four Welsh and four Irish teams.

From Ireland, the provincial rugby teams of Munster, Leinster, Ulster and Connacht compete against Wales’ Newport-Gwent Dragons, Cardiff Blues, Llanelli, Neath-Swansea Ospreys and Scotland’s Border Reivers, Edinburgh Gunners and Glasgow Warriors.

The Celtic League teams have proved very successful in the European Heineken Cup Leinster and Munster both reached the quarter finals in 2004-2005 and repeated the effort in 2006. Ulster won the competition in 1999 and Munster has twice reached the final whilst Cardiff has the honour of reaching the first European Rugby Cup final in 1996.

Celtic League and Cup games are broadcast live on a number of TV and Radio stations as well as live on the Celtic League web site. In the south east of England, the matches can be viewed, usually free-to-air, on S4C and BBC2Wales. Additional matches are available via the Irish-owned PAY TV broadcaster Setanta Sports.